A colored photo of the American flag

All El Paso County administrative offices, County affiliated agencies, El Paso County Combined Courts and the offices of the Fourth Judicial District Attorney will be closed Thursday, July 4, in observance of Independence Day.

The Board of El Paso County Commissioners also shifts to its summer schedule in July and August with all regularly scheduled meetings on Tuesdays only. The Board returns to its regular schedule with meetings on Tuesdays and Thursdays in September.

From the El Paso County Sheriff

4th of July Fireworks Information for Unincorporated El Paso County

As we celebrate the upcoming 4th of July holiday, fireworks are traditionally a major part of our Independence Day celebrations. We hope the holiday will pass without any serious injuries or incidents tainting its enjoyment. Although there are currently no fire bans in place for unincorporated El Paso County, we would like to remind citizens that the use, sale or possession of any firework with the exception of “permissible” fireworks is illegal. Violators may be punished by a fine of up to $750.00, by imprisonment for up to six months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

A good rule of thumb to remember is if a firework flies through the air, explodes or shoots flaming balls, it is illegal.

Illegal fireworks in El Paso County include:
• Bottle rockets
• Firecrackers of any type
• Mortars
• Roman candles

Permissible fireworks in El Paso County include:
• Fountains
• Ground spinners
• Smoke Bombs
• Sparklers

Fireworks should not be confused with “trick noise makers” which are not classified as fireworks. “Trick noise makers” function by throwing them on the ground or by pulling a string.
Examples of “trick nose makers” are:
• Champagne poppers (pull string, and they launch colored paper)
• Snaps (small paper wads that are thrown on the ground)
• Pull string poppers (small 2” paper tube with a string from each end)

We would like to wish every citizen in El Paso County a safe and happy Fourth of July. Should you have any issues with residents using illegal fireworks – call our non-emergency number (719) 390-5555, please reserve calling 911 for emergencies.