square graphic with photo of USA flags in background to the right and an overlay of the blue El Paso County in the upper left corner and text overlay at the bottom reading Veteran of the Year Award nominations open through April 1

March 5, 2024 – El Paso County Division of Veterans Services seeks nominations for the 2023 Veteran of the Year. Nominations are being accepted through April 1, 2024. An online nomination form is available at https://justiceservices.elpasoco.com/veterans-services/veteran-of-the-year/.

Nominees should have demonstrated exemplary military service, community service, and support for veterans in the community. Additionally, nominees must have been honorable discharged or retired from military service from one of the five Armed Forces of the United States, including the Reserve or National Guard or the United States Merchant Marines. They must reside in El Paso County, Colorado.

El Paso County believes Veterans deserve our support and recognition for their exemplary military service, outstanding community service, and endless encouragement to other local veterans. The county has presented the Veteran of the Year award annually since 2017. Past winners include:

  • 2017: Leo Martinez
  • 2018: Victor Fernandez
  • 2019: Duane France
  • 2020: Brede Mueller
  • 2021: Skyler Nelson
  • 2022: Roger Ehrke

For questions or more information, contact El Paso County Veterans Services at 719.520.7750, vet@elpasoco.com, or https://justiceservices.elpasoco.com/veterans-services/.